News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Facebook Follies of Friends and Families

Started by Syt, December 06, 2015, 01:55:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zoupa

Basketball scholarship maybe? We have those in Canada?

crazy canuck

Quote from: Zoupa on August 16, 2018, 07:45:38 PM
Basketball scholarship maybe? We have those in Canada?

The only reason I obtained an undergraduate degree is because a basketball coach recruited me a year after I graduated from high school. Where I grew up going to university was something nobody considered doing.  I had not thought about it as a possibility until my coach approached me.  And if he had not pursuaded admissions to let me in, I would have had no chance.

Once admitted my world changed completely.  I had some patient amazing profs who sparked my interest in learning.  I went on to be a successful student winning the Governor General award for academic excellence and after that I went on to where I am now.

It all started with a basketball coach taking a chance on me.  I see him every year for dinner.

derspiess

Wish more college athletes would take full advantage of their educational opportunities like that.
"If you can play a guitar and harmonica at the same time, like Bob Dylan or Neil Young, you're a genius. But make that extra bit of effort and strap some cymbals to your knees, suddenly people want to get the hell away from you."  --Rich Hall

crazy canuck

I am sure there are many who do.  We just hear about the ones that go to college as a stepping stone to get to the professional leagues.

Valmy

We had a member of our baseball team graduate last Spring and he tweeted out that he appreciated all the MLB teams who scouted him but he had already signed with an engineering firm. I thought that was cute.
Quote"This is a Russian warship. I propose you lay down arms and surrender to avoid bloodshed & unnecessary victims. Otherwise, you'll be bombed."

Zmiinyi defenders: "Russian warship, go fuck yourself."

derspiess