News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

The 2022-23 Economic Crisis Megathread

Started by Tamas, May 25, 2022, 05:15:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Admiral Yi

Quote from: HVC on April 04, 2024, 02:37:16 PMNot even that. You buy a stock at 100. It appreciates to 300. There's 100 in wealth not taxed. Even if you sell 100 you still have the left over 200 not taxed. For the extremely wealthy that 200 appreciated will never be taxed.

I'll freely admit I'm no expert and can be missing subtleties

But this is the issue with untaxed unrealized gains, not an issue created by margin trading.

HVC

Quote from: Admiral Yi on April 04, 2024, 02:39:24 PM
Quote from: HVC on April 04, 2024, 02:37:16 PMNot even that. You buy a stock at 100. It appreciates to 300. There's 100 in wealth not taxed. Even if you sell 100 you still have the left over 200 not taxed. For the extremely wealthy that 200 appreciated will never be taxed.

I'll freely admit I'm no expert and can be missing subtleties

But this is the issue with untaxed unrealized gains, not an issue created by margin trading.

the loan loophole is the one I mentioned in the post before that one. The unrealized asset as collateral tax avoidance scheme :) tax free use of the unrealized gain.
Being lazy is bad; unless you still get what you want, then it's called "patience".
Hubris must be punished. Severely.

Admiral Yi

Quote from: HVC on April 04, 2024, 02:40:29 PMthe loan loophole is the one I mentioned in the post before that one. The unrealized asset as collateral tax avoidance scheme :) tax free use of the unrealized gain.

So like using your stock as collateral is similar to cashing it in?  I guess.  Another way to look at it is you cash it in if and when you fail to pay the loan back.

Josquius

Quote from: Admiral Yi on April 04, 2024, 02:44:12 PM